La Porte High School

Skip to main content
Search
National Honor Society » Home

Home

Welcome to the La Porte High School chapter of the National Honor Society's home page for 2015-16 school year. 

Here is information about the NHS invitation process. The National office of NHS has guidelines for this process.  Students must have a cumulative GPA from 3 high school semesters before they can be invited to join the organization. With a cumulative GPA of 4.2 calculated at the end of the first semester of sophomore year, and at least 2 AP, pre-AP, or honors classes taken at La Porte High School, students become eligible to apply to NHS.  This usually happens near the middle of March depending upon the rate of calculation in the registrar's office.  Remember that senior GPAs are calculated first to determine Valedictorian and Salutatorian for the graduation year. Next come juniors. Then it is time for sophomores. From there, invitations are distributed to students' English teachers.  If students are interested in joining NHS, they will pick up an application from room 121.  The applications are reviewed by the faculty council, and, depending upon factors such as previous discipline infractions, the council makes the determination of which students will be accepted for membership.  Students are notified of their acceptance, and parents are invited to a parent meeting that will take place in April.  This date will be posted after the school year begins.

 

Meeting dates for your calendar:

Wed, Sept. 2  6:50 am in Library                  Thurs. Sept. 3    2:40 pm in Library

Wed. Oct. 7   6:50 am in Lecture Hall Thurs. Oct. 8      2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

Wed. Nov. 4   6:50 am in Lecture Hall Thurs. Nov. 5  2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

Wed. Dec. 2    6:50 am in Lecture Hall Thurs. Dec. 3     2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

Wed. Jan.6      6:50 am in Lecture Hall         Thurs. Jan. 7     2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

Wed. Feb. 3     6:50 am in Lecture Hall Thurs. Feb. 4     2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

Web. Mar. 2    6:50 am in Lecture Hall Thurs. Mar. 3     2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

Wed. Apr. 6   6:50 am in Lecture Hall Thurs. Apr. 7 2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

Wed. May 4   6:50 am in Lecture Hall Thurs. May 5 2:40 pm in Lecture Hall

The New Parent Meeting (for this year's new applicants) will be held in the lecture hall on Thursday, April 21 at 6:30 pm.  Please let me know if you have a conflict, and we can work something out.